Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
bringing an HR Tillotson back from junk status
DISCLAIMER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!     I'm NOT an expert, nor am I a machinist or guru of ANY type.
This is NOT a Reader's Digest condensed version, but a real life version of what to look for
and what I did as a low bucks, old time racer to solve my problem.

I recently acquired a Tillotson HR181A in a parts swap.  Dirty, I knew it was gonna need a redo.
 In the past, McCornack has been my go to guy for carb help, but I made a decision (bolstered by a
couple of adult beverages) that if I could keep my 9 sec. drag car running, (and continue to
run in the 9's), I could for sure do something productive and save this thing.......maybe even learn something.  I'm STILL learning about 2 cycle engines......and their idiosyncracies.

As I begin teardown for a "look see" the first thing that's apparent is the wear in the throttle shaft
to main body.....it's AWFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Next was the amount of white fuzzy junk in the interior.

It quickly became obvious this was NOT a quicky call to EC BIRT for parts and full speed ahead.
A cup full of lacquer thinner, a toothbrush, and 1/2 hour later, it's now cleaner than when I
started, but not yet to my standards.  Hello brass bristle "toothbrush."   An additional 1/2 hour,
and I'm happy.

Hard parts are ordered (simple pieces) and I'm now faced with the throttle shaft/main body wear
issues.  Along with this is the reality of someone before me having used an oversize throttle