Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
1964/5 Rupp Gran Prix help?
I am wanting to put the finishing touches on this Gran Prix that I have and I would like the experts input and help. So this is the kart as it sits:

(02-22-2017, 11:12 PM)Blaine Krugerud Wrote: I am wanting to put the finishing touches on this Gran Prix that I have and I would like the experts input and help. So this is the kart as it sits:

I have seen guys install a center cap to cover the steering shaft nut. Where do you guys find those?

And second question: Are there rubber bushings on the sections where the front and rear frames attach? This didn't have anything when I bought it, but it seems logical that it would have something.

Thanks in advance!

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Blaine,
I am not an expert.

I am in the process of restoring a Chapparral. The steering wheel center is a personal preference. I believe Azusa made them.

The frame and engine mount should have rubber busing on the mounting points. I have not been able to locate them so I made them form rubber stock.

If you need more info let me know.
You have done a great job so far.
Tony
Blaine,

The AZUSA steering came with the 1964 and 1965 Dart Grand Prix. There was a good reason. It was a much nicer wheel to drive or  race with.

Starting in 1964, the Grand Prix karts came with the 7 quart fuel (not a Chilton manufactured) tank that is similar in appearance to the Chilton 5 quart tank that is on your kart. The 1963 came with the 5 quart Chilton tank. Keep the tank, it's gorgeous and if the fuel capacity was not needed back in the days, good chance it would have been used (lower weight).