Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Direct Drive Question Dual engines
i have a question about direct drive. i have been running direct drive on my karts for a few years now (7) Mc5.Mc6,Mc10 and i am going to run duals since the 2 engines are chained to the live axle should they both be at TDC  or one up one down
I have read multiple times that both at TDC produces the least vibration. That doesn't mean that you shouldn't try the opposite to see what it does.
I ran duals and triples direct drive for more than ten years. My triple even had two of the same modified Mc6's on the outside, and a stroked Mc10 in the middle. It did not make a rat's a$$ how the engines were synchronized. it ran like a B.O.O.H. anyhow it was hooked up. Don't worry about it. I won literally dozens of races with direct drive duals. If you look at my avatar photo, that same Go Kart 800 spent all the second half of its life as a direct drive dual, even though that early photo shows it as a single Mc20. Ted

.jpg   158288963_10219702910945607_3970634045263545103_n.jpg (Size: 1.08 MB / Downloads: 22) thanks guys for the replies  i will try it both ways
It might be a bit harder to start if both engines are on the compression stroke at exactly the same time.
I remember when my brother and I had to push start my dad with direct drive.