Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
1977 Margay Panther X build thread
i am very new to vintage karting, even though i manage to have two mcculloch engines..

anyways, this is my journey/build on my Margay Panther X. someday it will be red, and not look so beat up, but for now, based on a lot of help from some really cool people on the original forum, this is my plan:

1: get my kart back!! i haven't seen it in about six months! its at a local kart shop. Undecided

2: i need to check the frame for things it needs. i also need to find a way to attach the motor mount, i need to get a gas tank (the metal tank!), throttle cable, chain, and some stuff I'm forgetting.

3: after the motor is hooked up, i need to fire it up. to be honest I've been dreading that day because blowing a motor up was not on my priorities..

4: if all goes well, i need to hook up the clutch, chain (i don't know what size!), and throttle cable. OH! i almost forgot, id like to get a sloper manifold.. the late manifold won't take a Tilly HL, and i like the slopers.

5: sadly, the only place that will let me run a vintage kart is all the way out to Quincy. I'm in KS.. but i should be able to run my kart!

6: after that, it'll be time to take everything apart. then powder coat, ball burnishing, chroming, and fixing.

7: then re-assembly, and that'll be it!!!

i hope you follow me along with my build. ill definitely ask questions.

i should have the kart tonight, then ill update then.

thanks!

Vico.
Probabaly 20 mins ago my dad brought the kart back! I already have the motor mount + motor, and the seat mocked. Unfortunately it was cut short due to my having to leave. I should be back Monday with updates. 

Vico.

An additional picture showing the motor mocked up with the 3rd bearing support.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Looks like a Tator plow motor lurking.....glad you are working on the Smoker motor attachment......we all know